Community Woodlands Association
CWA on Facebook Follow us on Twitter CWA YouTube Videos CWA Flixr Pictures
Home Contact
About the CWA

CWA Directors

Ian Ross OBEIan Ross OBE
Position: Chair
Ian Ross is a Chartered Forester and a graduate in Forestry from Aberdeen University. A past chair of Scottish Natural Heritage, he was also a Highland Councillor for 13 years and chaired the Councilís Planning, Environment and Development Strategic Committee. Ian was a senior lecturer at the Scottish School of Forestry, where he led on the development of its first degree in Forestry and continued to lecture at the University of the Highland and Islands on a part-time basis until 2014. Ian has been active on sustainability and community engagement issues within both the local authority and forestry sectors. He is a past chair of both the Forestry Commission Scotlandís Forestry for Peopleís Advisory Panel and the National Forest Land Schemeís Evaluation Panel and also chaired the North Highland Forest Trust for a number of years. Ian is involved with the voluntary sector and chairs a Council for Voluntary Service in Sutherland and is vice-chair of High Life Highland.
Anna Lawrence Anna Lawrence
Position: Vice-Chair
Anna Lawrence is a social forestry researcher based in Peebles. Having working with community forestry groups around the world, she is hugely enthusiastic about developments in Scotland, and the need to share experiences to communicate the value of community forestry here. Until 2015 she led the social research team in the Forestry Commission; before that she was based at Oxford University, and at Kew Botanic Gardens, and collaborated on social forestry projects in Bolivia, India, Philippines, Romania, among others. Returning home to Scotland, she helped to establish the Tweeddale Woodfuel Group, and contributes voluntary time to Carrifran Wildwood and Peebles Community Trust. She is self-employed and an honorary professor of forestry at Inverness College, University of Highlands and Islands.
Robert BorrusoRobert Borruso
Position: Director
Robert is passionate about sustainable energy use and renewables, leading seminars on these topics all over the country. Having been involved with Kilfinan Community Forest Company since its inception in 2005, Robert is currently managing the forest housing project, the long term aim being to provide a range of affordable housing for people who want to live and work in the area.
Tom CooperTom Cooper
Position: Director
Tom Cooper works as the Development Manager for Glengarry Community Woodlands where he is developing a range of projects including an eco-tourism enterprise. Originally from Wales, Tom grew up on a dairy farm which then diversified and became a honey farm. Tom studied Countryside Management at SRUC before going on to an MSc in Forestry at Bangor. A Forest School and Branching Out leader, he has a wealth of experience when it comes to engaging people with woods, and heís been involved with a number of community projects in Scotland, including urban community woodlands in and around Glasgow. He now lives on a croft in the Highlands where he grows his own vegetables.
 Frank Corcoran
Position: Director
Syd HouseSyd House
Position: Director
Syd House is a retired professional forester. After Edinburgh University, he worked for the Forestry Commission in a variety of roles across Scotland, latterly as the Conservator for the Perth & Argyll Conservancy during which time he dealt with community woodlands in various guises and locations. Since retiring in 2016, he has become chair of the Royal Scottish Forestry Societyís Forest Trust which looks after Cashel Forest on east Loch Lomond-side. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Foresters and was awarded an MBE for services to the forestry sector in 2016.
Pam NoblePam Noble
Position: Director
Pam Noble has recently retired from her post as Development Officer in HIEís Community Assets Team. During her nine and a half years in the team she supported many groups through the process of community acquisition, including a number of community woodlands such as Tormore, Kirkton and Glengarry. She worked closely with the Community Woodlands Association on several HIE-funded training and capacity building initiatives, and always enjoyed attending CWA conferences.
Dr Jane RosegrantDr Jane Rosegrant
Position: Director
Jane Rosegrant joined Borders Forest Trust as its Director in June 2012. She has a passion for community-based projects, woodlands and wild places. Her work background includes being a Regional Director with Voluntary Service Overseas, where she was based in the South Pacific and Sri Lanka. Before that she was with the Big Lottery Fund Scotland managing the Growing Community Assets grant stream. Even earlier than that she was Director of the Centre for Human Ecology in Edinburgh and also worked on sustainable forestry projects in the South Pacific. She has a PhD on the Rural Resettlement project in Ireland.
Lorna SchofieldLorna Schofield
Position: Director
Lorna Schofield escaped city life 21 years ago and has lived on the remote west coast peninsula of Knoydart ever since. She has been involved with the Knoydart Forest Trust since its inception in 1999, originally as a volunteer bookkeeper and for the past decade working full-time keeping things moving forward and managing the day to day stuff. When she can fit it in, Lorna seeks refuge from the office in the Wood Knoydart workshop as part of the small wood product making team.
Gordon Gray StephensGordon Gray Stephens
Position: Company Secretary
Gordon Gray Stephens is the Director of Scottish Native Woods, a conservation charity that aims to restore native woodlands as well as the links between people and woodlands. He is also one of the founding members and the Company Secretary of the Argyll Green Woodworkers Association (AGWA).
About the CWA
  About Community Woodlands
  CWA Staff
  CWA Directors
  CW Enterprise
  Jon's Blog
Snakes in the Woods
Copyright 2019 Community Woodlands Association | login Website Design by SAMTEQ
The Community Woodlands Association is a Company Limited by Guarantee registered in Scotland.
Company No: 275097 Charity No: SC038374 Registered Office: Old Poltalloch, Kilmartin, Argyll PA31 8RQ

The work of the CWA is supported financially by Forestry Commission Scotland