



Forest Stewardship Certification for Small and Community Woodlands: online training event, 23 March 2021, 2.00 – 3.30pm

Introduction

This training event was one of a series organised by the Community Woodlands Association between January and March 2021. The event was co-hosted by CWA, the Forest Stewardship Council and Llais y Goedwig, the voice of community woodlands in Wales.

Key issues addressed were what certification could mean for community woodlands, why should they consider it and how would it work in practice. Due to ongoing coronavirus restrictions the event was held online via Zoom; XX delegates registered to attend.

Agenda

2pm: Welcome and Introduction
2:10pm: What is FSC certification for small and community woodlands all about? Owen Davies, Forest Standards Manager, FSC UK
2:15pm: Why are we involved? Maria Wilding, Programme Manager, Llais y Goedwig Ian Baker, CEO, Small Woods Association Community Woodlands Association
2:30pm: How does it work in practice? Control Union, SGS and Soil Association
2:45pm: What do our members think?
3:00pm: Questions and discussion
3:30pm: Finish

Event recording

A recording of part of the event is available at <u>https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ELWtWETf0-c</u>

Resources

UK Woodland Assurance Scheme: <u>https://ukwas.org.uk/</u>

FSC list of certification bodies and group schemes (download pdf from LHS menu): <u>https://www.fsc-uk.org/en-uk/business-area/certification-bodies</u>

Attendees	Organisation (where known)
Maria Wilding	Llais y Goedwig
Amanda Calvert	CWA
Owen Davies	Forest Stewardship Council
Peter Wilson	UKWAS working group chair
lan Baker	Small Woods Association
Andy Grundy	Soil Association
Douglas Orr	SGS
Paul Sandys	Control Union
Lucy Kew	Dewis Gwyllt
Jayne Hunt	Llais y Goedwig
Margaret	
Amy Willox	Forest Stewardship Council
Betina Balle	
Tammi Dallaston	Teulu'r Goedwig
Anthea Fairey	Friends of Castle Meadows
Robert Clapham	Riverside Community Park, Cardiff
David Lea-Wilson	Llyn Parc Mawr
Andrew Sharkey	Woodland Trust
Tim WareE	
Emma Williams	
Tony Morel	
Jonathon Hulson	North Wales Wildlife Trust
Jon Addis	Longwood CWG
Adam Thorogood	Woodland Trust
David Morgan	Cwmaman Community Council
Cara Wilson	Llais y Goedwig
Robert Nancarrow	Blaen Bran CWG
Zofia Dziewanowska	
Ben Walker	



